Guide to version history
Learn how to view, compare, and restore earlier versions of pages and pieces in ApostropheCMS.
-
- Beginner
- 2 min read
- Content Management
- Last Updated September 30, 2026
ApostropheCMS automatically captures draft versions of your pages and pieces, so you can see what a document looked like at any earlier point, and restore it if needed.

Accessing version history in the CMS
Open the document in Edit mode, then click the action menu (the three-dot icon, top right), or open it from the manager modal.
Select Document Versions.
In the Document Versions modal, select a version from the list on the right to preview it.
Review the changes between versions
Click on a version to view what changed from the one before it. You'll see drafts by each editor who touched it, and an indication of whether AI was used in the editing process.
By default, you'll start on the most recent version that was saved.
In the main center panel, you'll see the document title and then a visualization of the content with changes labeled to reflect whether they were modified, added, or deleted.
Click the "See changes" link associated with the version on the right panel to see a detailed list of all of the changes, including fields that aren't currently in view.
Use the arrows at the bottom to scroll through changes.
Click on a change to scroll to that change on the page.
To open the visual preview of the document in an expanded view, click the small arrow icon between the tabs on the left and the main content.
Restoring a previous version
Select the version you want in the right panel and click Restore. This overwrites your current draft, and the restored content becomes the new working version.
Note: Restoring doesn't delete your version history. The draft you had before restoring is still there if you need to go back to it.